The Board of Governors


Welcome to Copthall School’s Governing Board. I was delighted to have been appointed Chair of the Board of Governors in September 2021 The Board of Governors comprises a group of individuals, including staff, parents and alumnae, who are committed to providing a great education to every Copthall student. Our governors bring a mix of high-level skills and experience and lots of enthusiasm for Copthall. For details of Governors, including their biographies, please see below.

Copthall School is a company limited by guarantee and a Single Academy Trust. We are the directors of the company and the trustees of the Academy Trust. We are referred to as the “Board of Governors” or the “Trustees”.

Contact the Chair of Governors, Claire Buxton via email

Members are guardians of the governance of the trust. The board of trustees is the accountable body and it delegates its functions to committees, senior leaders and the headteacher.

The Board of Governors has three core functions:

1. Setting the school’s vision, ethos and strategic direction;

2. Holding the Headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils, and the performance management of staff; and

3. Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent.

While the Board of Governors is responsible for setting the strategy, it is not responsible for implementing that strategy or for operational matters. The Headteacher is responsible for the internal organisation, management and control of the school and the implementation of the strategic plan.

For more information on the role and expectations of governors at Copthall please see our Governor Job Description and our Code of Conduct below.

Meetings and Committees

The Full Board of Governors meets four times a year. In addition we have three committees that meet once or twice a term and each governor is assigned to a committee. Governors are also linked to particular areas of the school and/or members of staff. All non-confidential meeting minutes are available on request. For details of governors, committees and link arrangements please see below.

Contacting the Governors

For most school related matters your first point of contact should be a Copthall School staff member. However, if you would like to contact the Governors you can do so at

Become a Governor

If you are interested in becoming a Governor we would love to hear from you. Please contact us at

Our Governors

Chair of Governors
Pursley Road,
Mill Hill,

Claire Buxton

Co Vice Chair  Jane Sanches
Ihjaaz Quershi

Chair of Finance and Resources Committee

Stephen Rosen
Chair of Behaviour Attitudes & Personal Development Committee Elaine Runswick
Chair of Educational Standards Committee Janet Hallett

Alex Fraser (Chair)
Josh Kane
Frank Orman
Mahjabin Quadir
Anjula Singh
Kim Hamer
Vicky Shafran

Company Secretary Maria Winters
Board of Trustees

Karl Bulman
Claire Buxton
Caroline Carter
Afiya Chohollo
Poonam Dave
Janet Hallett
Kasia Maziarka
Nikki Ogun
Ihjaaz Qureshi
Anne Rosen
Stephen Rosen
Elaine Runswick 
Jane Sanchez
Omar Shah
Wadzanayi Bimha

Committees & Members

Finance and Resources 

Stephen Rosen (Chair)
Anne Rosen (Vice Chair)
Claire Buxton
Maria Winters
Mahjabin Quadir (Associate Member)
Nikki Ogun

Educational Standards

Janet Hallett (Chair)
Afiya Chohollo
Poonam Dave
Omar Shah
Karl Bulman

Behaviour Attitudes & Personal Development

Elaine Runswick
Caroline Carter (Vice Chair)
Wadzanayi Bimha
Kasia Maziaka
Ihjaaz Qureshi
Jane Sanchez

Appraisal Management Group

Claire Buxton
Kasia Maziarka
Caroline Carter